STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE
BEFORE THE
PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

Freedom Ring Communications, LLC d/b/a

BayRing Communications — Complaint Docket No. DT 06-067
Against Verizon New Hampshire re: Access
Charges

ONE COMMUNICATIONS’ MEMORANDUM
REGARDING CLAIM PERIOD AND INTEREST

In accordance with the procedures established at the November 5, 2008 technical session,
One Communications respectfully submits this memorandum concerning (1) the period when
One Communications’ claim for reparations begins to run and (2) how the Commission should
award interest under RSA 365:29 on ainounts Verizon New Hampshire is required to pay in
reparations.

The applicable period for One Communications’ claims begins to run on April 28, 2004,
the date two years prior to the date when BayRing filed its complaint in this action. That period
applies irrespective of the amendment to RSA 365:29 that became effective in August 2008. The
interest rate that the Commission should require Verizon New Hampshire to pay is the rate of
$0.0005 per day that Verizon established as the “disputed amount penalty” under its own Tariff
No. 85. That rate should apply both to disputed payments that fall within the parameters set by

§ 4.1.8 of the tariff, as well as to other payments



Discussion

L One Communications’ Claims Begin to Run on April 28, 2004.

A. Under RSA 365:29, One Communications’ Claim Begins to Run Two Years
Before BayRing Filed its Complaint.

One Communications’ claim begins to run on April 28, 2004, the date two years before
BayRing filed its complaint in this case. This conclusion results from straightforward
application of RSA 365:29. That provision states:

On its own initiative or whenever a petition or complaint has been filed with the

commission covering any rate, fare, charge, or price demanded and collected by

any public utility, and the commission has found, after hearing and investigation,

that an illegal or unjustly discriminatory rate, fare, charge, or price has been

collected for any service, the commission may order the public utility which has

collected the same to make due reparation to the person who has paid the same,

with interest from the date of the payment. Such order for reparation shall cover

only payments made within 2 years before the earlier of the date of the

commission's notice of hearing or the filing of the petition for reparation.

The statute is explicit: “whenever” a petition or complaint is filed, the Commission may
order reparations going back two years before the filing of the petition. The “date of . . . filing of
the petition for reparation” referred to in the last sentence refers back to the only other instance
of the word “petition” in the provision, that in the first line — “whenever a petition or complaint
has been filed.” Further, the provision refers to “the petition” — one petition — not multiple
petitions.

In addition, the Commission is authorized to order the utility that has collected an illegal
rate to make reparation “to the person who has paid” the illegal charge. Thus, any utility
customer that paid an illegal charge may receive reparations of overcharges when the
Commission so orders.

It is not a prerequisite that a particular person file a complaint or petition in order to

obtain reparations. The Legislature did not limit the Commission’s authority to order refunds



only to the person who filed the complaint. It did not, for example, say that “the Commission
may order the public utility which has collected the same to make due reparation to the person
who filed the complaint.” Instead, the Legislature authorized the Commission to order
reparations to “the person who has paid” the unlawful rate. The only qualification to be eligible
for reparation is that the person has paid a rate the Commission has found to be illegal.

To tie eligibility for reparations and/or an individual claimant’s claim period to the filing
of an individual petition for reparations would defeat the purpose of the statute — to make whole
customers that have paid illegal charges to public utilities. Indeed, refunds have been ordered or
approved under RSA 365:29 without there being any indication that each and every recipient of
reparations had filed a petition. See Appeal of Granite State Electric Co., 120 N.H. 536, 541,
421 A.2d 121, 124 (1980) (petition filed by public interest group); In re EnergyNorth Natural
Gas, Inc. — Investigation into Thermal Billing Practices, DG 06-154, Order Approving
Settlement Agreement, Order No. 24,752, at 22 (May 25, 2007) (utility receives release of
liability for claims under RSA 365:29 on account of refunds made to customers even though no
individual customer filed a petition under RSA 365:29).

Indeed, requiring each and every claimant to file a petition for reparation as a condition
of receiving a refund would serve no purpose other than to discourage reparations of unlawful
overcharges by increasing the transaction costs of seeking such reparations. In particular,
Verizon will suffer no prejudice from having to repay a// unlawful overcharges, whether or not a
particular customer files an individual petition. iOnce BayRing filed its complaint in this docket,
both the Commission and Verizon were on notice that Verizon’s CCL charges might be found
unlawful and that the Commission might require Verizon to make reparations. Requiring other

parties to provide additional notice, by way of a petition for reparations, would not provide any



additional information that Verizon might need or want in order to defend itself against the
claim.

In particular, the filing of petitions by other parties does not alter Verizon’s ability to
assess the extent of its reparation obligations. Verizon is the party that billed the CCL charges
and collected the overcharges. Once on notice that there was a claim by any customer, Verizon
was uniquely able to determine who paid what, and to estimate what potential reparations might
amount to. Indeed, Verizon was able to do exactly that when it filed its “ballpark estimate” of
potential damages in early 2007.

The result is the same under the pre-August 2008 version of the statute. Prior to its
amendment by Laws of 2008, Ch. 309, RSA 365:29 said:

Whenever complaint has been made to the commission covering any rate, fare,

charge, or price demanded and collected by any public utility, and the commission

has found, after hearing and investigation, that an illegal or unjustly

discriminatory rate, fare, charge, or price has been collected for any service, the

commission may order the public utility which has collected the same to make

due reparation to the person who has paid the same, with interest from the date of

the payment. Such order for reparation shall cover only payments made within 2

years before the date of filing the petition for reparation.

As under the current version, whenever a complaint has been filed, the Commission may make
an order of reparation covering payments made within two years of the filing of the petition. As
in the current version, the statute does not say that the reparation order may go back only two
years from the date the particular party that is to be reimbursed files its own, individual petition.

B. If the Commission Does Not Agree that One Communications’ Claims Run

from Two Years Prior to BayRing’s Complaint, then the Commission Should
Find that the Claim Runs from Two Years Prior to the Order of Notice.

As shown above, under either the current or prior versions of RSA 365:29, One
Communications’ claims begin to run two years before BayRing filed its complaint in this case

— that is, the claim begins to run on April 28, 2004. Since this result obtains under either the



current or pre-August 2008 versions of the statute, it is not necessary for the Commission to
decide which version of the statute applies to One Communications’ claims.

If the Commission disagrees, however, and determines that One Communications’ claims
period is not determined by the date BayRing
determine that One Communications’ claims run from June 23, 2004. That is the date two years
before the earlier of the order of notice (June 23, 2006) and the filing of One Communications’
petition for reparations (July 24, 2006).>

The current version of RSA 365:29, which contains the “earlier of the order of notice or
the filing of the petition for reparations” language, governs the claim period in this case
regardless of the fact that it was not in effect when this case was commenced. A statute may
apply to cases commenced but not yet decided when it is enacted if the statute is remedial or
procedural in nature. Gelinas v. Mackey,123 N.H. 690, 695, 465 A.2d 498, 501 (1983). The test
for whether a statute is “remedial” turns on whether its purpose is to afford a private remedy to a
person injured by a wrongful act (as opposed to “penal” statutes, the purpose of which is to
punish an offense against the public). LaBarre v. Daneault, 123 N.H. 267, 270, 461 A.2d 89, 91
(1983). The presumption is that a remedial statute is to be applied retrospectively. Liberty
Mutual Ins. Co. v. Home Ins. Indem. Co., 117 N.H. 269, 270, 371 A.2d 1171, 1173 (1979).

The central question is whether the amendment affects the parties’ rights and obligations,

not whether the outcome is altered or the party is subjected to liability that otherwise would have

' As shown above in Part L.A., under either the current or prior versions of RSA 365:29, One Communications’
claims began to run from two years prior to the date BayRing filed its complaint in this action. The arguments in
this Part 1.B, therefore, are contingent and apply only if the Commission disagrees with that interpretation set forth
in Part LA.

? The Commission has deemed petitions for intervention in this docket as petitions for reparations. November 29,
2006 Procedural Order, Order No. 24,705, at 6. No party sought reconsideration of that ruling. All four One
Communications operating entities in New Hampshire (Choice One of New Hampshire Inc.; Conversent
Communications of New Hampshire, LLC; CTC Communications Corp.; and Lightship Telecom, LLC) were
included in One Communications’ July 24, 2006 petition to intervene.



been barred. Workplace Systems, Inc. v. Cigna Property and Casualty Insurance Co., 143 N.H.
322, 325, 723 A.2d 583, 585 (1999). Here, it is clear that the parties’ underlying rights and
obligations have not been affected. The amendment to RSA 365:29 does not affect the question
whether Verizon’s CCL charges were lawful or unlawful. The amendment affected (if anything,
see Part I.A above) the time period during which One Communications may recover the
overcharges. By altering the time period during which a claim may be asserted, the amendment
to RSA 365:29 is akin to a change in the statute of limitations. Changes in statutes of limitations
are remedial and may be applied retrospectively. Workplace Systems, 143 N.H. at 325, 723 A.2d
at 585 (citing, e.g., Norton v. Patten, 125 N.H. 413, 416, 480 A.2d 190, 192 (1984); State v.
Preston, 119 N.H. 877, 880-81, 409 A.2d 792, 793-94 (1979)).

Further, application of the amendment to RSA 365:29 to One Communications’ claims is
not a “retrospective law” prohibited by Part I, Article 23 of the New Hampshire Constitution.
The constitutional prohibition against retrospective laws prevents a change in law from depriving
a person of a vested property right. To be vested, a right must be more than a mere expectation
based on an anticipation of the continuance of existing law. In re Goldman, 151 N.H. 770, 774,
868 A.2d 278, 282 (2005). “A perfect vested right can be no other than such as is not doubtful,
or depending on any contingency, but absolute, fixed and certain.” Lakeman v. Moore, 32 N.H.
410, 413 (1855), quoted in Goldman, 151 N.H. at 774, 868 A.2d at 282.

Verizon has no vested property right in its desire to escape liability for unlawful charges 7
it imposed during the period June 23 — July 24, 2004. At present, the scope of Verizon’s liability
is not “absolute, fixed, and certain,” and it was not at the time of the statutory amendment. That
is why the Commission and parties are engaged in Phase IT of this case — to determine what,

exactly, Verizon’s liability is. To the extent that Verizon believed that it would not have to repay



One Communications the CCL charges it billed during June 23 — July 24, 2004, that belief was
founded only on its expectation that the Legislature would not amend RSA 365:29. That “mere
expectation based on an anticipation of the continuance of existing law™ does not give rise to a
vested property right. The Legislature has the power to change, modify and repeal existing law.
Further, even if Verizon’s liability increases over what it expected to pay prior to the statutory
amendment, there is no “implied obligation on the part of the State to protect its citizens against
incidental injury occasioned by change in the law.” Goldman, 151 N.H. at 773, 868 A.2d at 281
(quoting State v. Burr, 142 N.H. 89, 93-94, 696 A.2d 1114 (1997)).

As the amendment to RSA 365:29 is remedial or procedural, it may apply retrospectively.
Because the Legislature was free to amend RSA 365:29, Verizon had no vested right to
anticipate that the claims period would remain unchanged. Therefore, there is no constitutional

prohibition against applying the statutory amendment to One Communications’ claims here.

11 The Commission Should Award Interest at the Rate of $0.0005 Per Day.
A. Verizon’s Tariff No. 85 Establishes This Rate.

The Commission should require Verizon to pay interest at a rate of $0.0005 per day in
accordance with the “disputed amount penalty” provisions under Tariff No. 85, § 4.1.8.% In
general, the “disputed amount penalty” applies when a customer disputes a charge imposed
under Tariff No. 85, pays the charge, and prevails in the dispute.

Section 4.1.8 sets forth a number of scenarios establishing the amount of the disputed
amount penalty, which depend on the timing of the payment and of the dispute. For example, if
the customer disputes the charge within three months of the payment due date and pays the

charge by the due date, and prevails, then the disputed amount penalty runs from the date of

3 For the Commission’s convenience, section 4.1.8 is attached to this memorandum.



payment to the date the issue is resolved. § 4.1.8.E. If the customer disputes the charge after
three months after the payment due date and pays the charge by the dispute date, then Verizon
must pay the disputed penalty amount from the date of dispute to the date of resolution. §
418H"

B. The Commission Should Require That Verizon Pay Interest at a Rate of
$0.0005 Per Day on Charges That Fall Outside the Terms of the Tariff.

Even if certain of the reparations that Verizon will be required to make do not strictly fall
within the “disputed payment amount” provisions of the tariff, the Commission may still use that
rate to calculate interest payable on account of Verizon’s unlawful CCL overcharges.

RSA 365:29 authorizes the Commission to require a utility to make reparation to a
customer that has paid unlawful charges “with interest from the date of payment.”> Thus, for any
reparations for which the “disputed amount penalty” in Tariff No. 85 does not apply from the
date of payment, the Commission should nonetheless order Verizon to pay interest from the date
of payment.®

The statute does not specify the rate of interest that the Commission should apply. The
Commission should apply Verizon’s rate of $0.0005 in these instances as well. Verizon has
determined that $0.0005 per day is an appropriate rate to compensate those who overpaid under
Tariff No. 85. In order to effectuate the remedial objectives of RSA 365:29, the Commission
may look to that rate as an appropriate rate for reparations, including those that do not strictly fall

within the provisions of § 4.1.8.

* Section 4.1.8.H might apply, for instance, to payments made in the 2004-05 time frame, before the problem was
understood and parties began to dispute the charges.

* This provision is identical under the current and pre-August 2008 version of the statute.

¢ One example where the Commission should order such interest is for the CCL charges paid in the 2004-05 time
frame, before parties became aware that Verizon was unlawfully overcharging. Parties may not have disputed those
charges within three months of the bill date. Thus, by strict application of § 4.1.8.H, the disputed payment amount
applies only from the date of dispute. To fill the gap between the date of payment and the date of dispute, the
Commission should require payment of interest under RSA 365:29.



As an alternative, if the Commission does not agree that the rate in Tariff No. 85 should
apply by analogy where it does not strictly apply by the tariff’s terms, then the Commission
should award interest at Verizon’s rate of return for wholesale services.” This is the rate at which
Verizon obtains its capital elsewhere. The Commission’s authority to order reparations is
founded on the principle of unjust enrichment. Granite State Elec. Co., 120 N.H. at 539-40, 421
A.2d at 123. To the extent that Verizon has obtained capital by unlawfully overcharging One
Communications and other, similarly-situated customers, it has been unjustly enriched, because
it has not had to pay its cost of capital to other investors. The Commission should require
Verizon to return this unjust enrichment by paying the overcharges customers the same rate of
return on the money it has held since obtaining the unlawful overcharges.

C. Verizon Must Credit Any Late Payment Charges, Interest, or Similar

Charge Assessed Against One Communications for Disputed, Unpaid CCL
Charges.

With respect to any bills for CCL charges that One Communications disputed and
withheld, the Commission should ensure that any late payment charges, interest, or any other
charge or fee that Verizon has imposed on account of One Communications’ non-payment of any
unlawful CCL charge be eliminated. Verizon must credit any such charge, whether imposed
pursuant to Tariff No. 85, § 4.1.2 or otherwise. Thus, in addition to issuing a credit to One
Communications for any CCL charges that Verizon carries on its books, Verizon must also issue

full credits for any late payment charges or interest.

7 One Communications understands that that rate is set forth in a letter between Verizon and the Commission Staff
dated March 4, 1998, and is approximately 10.46%. As the Commission is aware, however, in the cost of capital
proceeding in 2002-03, Verizon advocated a cost of capital for wholesale services of 17.93%. In re Verizon New
Hampshire — Investigation into Cost of Capital, DT 02-110, Order Establishing Cost of Capital, Order No. 24,265,
at 5-6 (Jan. 16, 2004). That rate is roughly equivalent to the Tariff No. 85 “disputed amount penalty” on an
annualized basis, and provides further support that Verizon’s “disputed amount penalty” rate is the appropriate rate
to apply to all overpayments at issue here, whether or not strictly within the terms of the tariff.



10

Conclusion
The Commission should determine that One Communications’ claims begin to run on
April 28, 2004, two years before the date BayRing filed its complaint in this action. The
Commission should award interest at the rate of $0.0005 per day on all amounts improperly
charged by and paid to Verizon, from the date that the customer paid through the date that

Verizon fully refunds the overcharges.

December 18, 2008 Respectfully Submitted,
Of Counsel: % W

Gregory M. Kennan

Paula W. Foley Fagelbaum & Heller LLP
One Communications Corp. PO Box 230

5 Wall Street Sherborn, MA 01770
Burlington, MA 01803 508-259-0786
781-362-5713 Tel. gmk@fhllplaw.com

781-362-1313 Fax
pfoley@onecommunications.com




NHPUC No. 85 Access Service

Section 4
Page 4
Original

Verizon New England Inc.

Issuance, Payment and Crediting of Customer Bills
Undertaking of the Telephone Company

Nonrecurring Charges

(Continued)

The reestablishment of service begins within sixty days after Telephone Company service is
available. The sixty day period may be extended a reasonable period if the renovation of the
original location on the premises affected is not practical within the allotted time period.

41.8

Billing Dispute

In the event that a billing dispute occurs concerning any charges billed to the customer by the
Telephone Company the regulations contained in Section 4.1.8 will apply.

The first day of the dispute shall be the date on which the customer furnishes the Telephone
Company with the account number under which the bill has been rendered, the date of the bill and
the specific items on the bill being disputed.

The date of resolution shall be the date on which the Telephone Company completes its
investigation of the dispute, notifies the customer of the disposition and, if the billing dispute is
resolved in favor of the customer, applies credit for the correct disputed amount, the disputed
amount penalty and/or late payment penalty as appropriate.

If a billing dispute is resolved in favor of the Telephone Company, any payments withheld pending
resolution of the dispute shall be subject to the late payment penalty. Further, the customer will not
receive credit for the disputed amount or the disputed amount penaity.

If a customer disputes a bill within three months of the payment date and pays the total billed
amount on or before the payment date and the billing dispute is resolved in favor of the customer,
the customer will receive a credit for a disputed amount penalty from the Telephone Company for
the period starting with the date of payment and ending on the date of resolution. The credit for the
disputed amount penalty shall be as set forth following.

If a customer disputes a bill within three months of the payment date and pays the total billed
amount after the payment date and the billing dispute is resolved in favor of the customer, the
customer will receive a credit for a disputed amount penalty from the Telephone Company for the
period starting with the date of payment and ending on the date of resolution. The credit for the
disputed amount penalty shall be as set forth following. The late payment penalty (refer to Section
4.1.2) applied to the disputed amount resolved in the customer's favor will be credited.

Issued: March 07, 2001 J. Michael Hickey
Effective: March 07, 2001 President-NH




NHPUC No. 85 Access Service
Section 4
Page 5
Original
Verizon New England Inc.

4, Issuance, Payment and Crediting of Customer Bills
4.1 Undertaking of the Telephone Company
41.8 Billing Dispute

G. | If a customer disputes a bill within three months of the payment date and does not pay the
disputed amount or does not pay the billed amount (i.e., the nondisputed and disputed amount),
and the billing dispute is resolved in favor of the customer, the customer will not receive a credit for
a disputed amount penalty from the Telephone Company. The late payment penalty (refer to
Section 4.1.2A and 4.1.2B) applied to the disputed amount resolved in the customer’s favor will be
credited.

H. | If a customer disputes a bill after three months from the payment date and pays the total billed
amount on or before the dispute date, and the billing dispute is resolved in favor of the customer,
the customer will receive a credit for a disputed amount penalty from the Telephone Company for
the period starting with the date of dispute and ending on the date of the resolution. The credit for a
disputed amount penalty shall be as set forth following. The customer shall not receive a credit for
the late payment penalty.

1. | If a customer disputes a bill after three months from the payment date and does not pay the
disputed amount or does not pay the billed amount (i.e., the nondisputed amount and disputed
amount) and the billing dispute is resolved in favor of the customer, the customer will not receive a
credit for a disputed amount penalty from the Telephone Company. However, if the customer pays
the disputed amount or the billed amount after the date of dispute and before the date of
resolution, the customer will receive a credit for a disputed amount penalty from the Telephone
Company for the period starting with the date of payment and ending on the date of resolution.
The credit for the disputed amount penalty shall be as set forth following. The customer will receive
a credit for the late payment penalty, if applicable, from the Telephone Company.

1. | The late payment penalty credit shall be the disputed amount resolved in the customer's favor
times a late payment penalty factor (refer to Section 4.1.2), for the period starting with the date of
dispute and ending on the date of payment of the disputed amount or the date of resolution
whichever occurs first.

2. | The disputed amount penalty shall be the disputed amount resolved in the customer's favor times
a penalty factor. The penalty factor shall be 0.0005 per day for the number of days from the first
date to and including the last date of the period involved.

419 Billing Adjustments and Verification

A. | Adjustments for the quantities of services established or discontinued in any billing period beyond
the minimum period set forth for services in other sections of this tariff will be prorated to the
number of days or major fraction of days based on a thirty day month. The Telephone Company
will, upon request and if available, furnish such detailed information as may reasonably be required
for verification of any hill.

Issued: March 07, 2001 J. Michael Hickey
Effective: March 07, 2001 President-NH






